Any questions regarding the options for handling tickets may be directed to
Connie Hansen, Court Administrator
at (940) 365-9333 (opt. 3, ext. 2)
Jenny Sawyers, Municipal Court Clerk
at (940) 365-9333 (opt. 2)
Providence Village Municipal Court
1745 F.M. 2931
Providence Village, TX 76227
(940) 365-9333 (opt. 2)
Monday – Thursday 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am – 12:30 pm
Note: This court is a court of record.
Please click the links below to view a tentative list of upcoming court dates:
There are three ways in which you may plea:
- Not Guilty – you contest the charge(s) in your case and the State must prove the charges against you. With this plea, you are required to appear in open court on your court date and you will be given the opportunity to request either a bench trial or a jury trial. Your case will then be reset to the nearest available trial date.
- No Contest – you do not contest the State’s charge(s) against you.
- Guilty – you admit you committed the charge(s) for which you are accused and wish to pay the fine(s) and court costs assessed.
- Paying in Full
- Compliance Dismissal
- Driving Safety Course
- Deferred Disposition
- Trial Procedure
- Cash (no coins in excess of $5.00 will be accepted)
- Money orders
- Cashier or Personal Checks (no temporary or out-of-state checks)
- *Credit Cards (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express) (* $3 or 2.65% credit card fee applied, whichever is the greater amount)
- Expired Registration
- Expired Driver’s License
- Fail to change address on Driver’s License
- Defective equipment
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No Insurance) If you received a citation for no insurance, but you had insurance at the time and date of the violation, you must provide the Court with verifiable proof. The Court will call to verify that the insurance was active on the time and date of the citation. If it was, then the citation will be dismissed with no cost to you. If your insurance is found to be not active on the time and date of the citation, you will have to pay the stated fine amount. You may appear in court on your scheduled court date to discuss payment options with the Judge.
- You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest.
- You must possess a valid Texas Driver’s License.
- You must possess Texas Automobile Liability Insurance valid the day of your request.
- You cannot be charged with speeding in excess of 24 miles per hour.
- You cannot currently be taking the course for another citation.
- Your Driving Record cannot reflect completion of a Driving Safety Course within twelve (12) months preceding the date of the alleged offense.
- The “Court Certificate” of completion of the Driving Safety Course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency.
- A certified copy of your Driving Record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
- The right to have notice of the complaint not later than the day before any proceedings.
- The right to inspect the complaint before trial and have it read to you at the trial.
- The right to have your case tried before a jury, if you so desire.
- The right to hear all testimony introduced against you.
- The right to cross-examine witnesses who testify against you.
- The right to testify in your behalf.
- The right not to testify, if you so desire. If you choose not to testify, your refusal to do so may not be held against you in determining your innocence or guilt.
- You may call witnesses to testify in your behalf at the trial, and have the court issue a subpoena (a court order) to any witnesses to ensure their appearance at the trial.
- You fail to make a plea to violations shown on your citation.
- You fail to comply with the Orders of the Judge.
- You do not complete a payment plan or fail to make payment as promised.
- Issue a warrant for your arrest (additional fees will apply)
- Charge the stated fine amount
- Issue a Failure to Appear or Violate Promise to Appear (additional fees will apply)
All requirements pertain to both adult and juvenile males and females unless otherwise noted. Failure to comply may result in the resetting of the case to a later date, or in extreme cases, contempt of court:
- Shoes are required.
- No sleeveless shirts.
- No shorts (women are permitted to wear dress shorts with hosiery).
- No exposed midriffs.
- No clothing displaying offensive words or pictures (the court retains the exclusive right to define “offensive” on an individual basis).
- No hats.
- Officers of the Court are held to the higher standards generally recognized in Texas Courts.
INFANTS AND SMALL CHILDREN should be left with a sitter or at home in the care of a competent adult. There are no child care facilities available. Loud or crying children should be taken out of the courtroom.
Cellular devices or pagers are not allowed in the Courtroom.